Republic of Vanuatu

Capital Port Vila
Language Bislama, French, English
Area Total 12,189 km2 (4,706 sq mi) (157th)
Capital Port Vila
Population 270,402[3]
Currency Vanuatu vatu (VUV)
Dialing code +678
Time Zone UTC+11 (VUT (Vanuatu Time))


Vanuatu (English: /ˌvɑːnuˈɑːt/ (About this soundlisten) VAH-noo-AH-too or /vænˈwɑːt/ van-WAH-tooBislama pronunciation [vanuatu]), officially the Republic of Vanuatu (French: République de VanuatuBislamaRipablik blong Vanuatu), is a Pacific island country located in the South Pacific Ocean. The archipelago, which is of volcanic origin, is 1,750 kilometres (1,090 mi) east of northern Australia, 540 kilometres (340 mi) northeast of New Caledonia, east of New Guinea, southeast of the Solomon Islands, and west of Fiji.

Vanuatu was first inhabited by Melanesian people. The first Europeans to visit the islands were a Spanish expedition led by Portuguese navigator Fernandes de Queirós, who arrived on the largest island in 1606. Since the Portuguese and Spanish monarchies had been unified under the king of Spain in 1580 (following the vacancy of the Portuguese throne, which lasted for sixty years, until 1640, when the Portuguese monarchy was restored), Queirós claimed the archipelago for Spain, as part of the colonial Spanish East Indies, and named it La Austrialia del Espíritu Santo.

In the 1880s, France and the United Kingdom claimed parts of the archipelago, and in 1906, they agreed on a framework for jointly managing the archipelago as the New Hebrides through an Anglo–French condominium. An independence movement arose in the 1970s, and the Republic of Vanuatu was founded in 1980. Since independence, the country is a member of the United NationsCommonwealth of NationsOrganisation internationale de la Francophonie and the Pacific Islands Forum.