Independent State of Samoa

Capital Apia
Religion Christianity (official)[2]
Language English Samoan
Area Total 2,842 km2 (1,097 sq mi) (167th) Water (%) 0.3
Capital Apia
Population 195,843[3]
Currency WS$b, Tala (WST)
Dialing code +685
Time Zone UTC+13c (UTC+13:00) Summer (DST) UTC+14 (UTC+14:00)


Samoa (/səˈmə/), officially the Independent State of Samoa (SamoanMalo Saʻoloto Tutoʻatasi o SāmoaSamoanSāmoaIPA: [ˈsaːmoa]) and, until 4 July 1997, known as Western Samoa, is a country consisting of two main islands, Savai'i and Upolu, and four smaller islands. The capital city is Apia. The Lapita people discovered and settled the Samoan Islands around 3,500 years ago. They developed a unique Samoan language and Samoan cultural identity.

Samoa is a unitary parliamentary democracy with eleven administrative divisions. The country is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. Western Samoa was admitted to the United Nations on 15 December 1976. The entire island group, which includes American Samoa, was called "Navigator Islands" by European explorers before the 20th century because of the Samoans' seafaring skills.